Google is planning to shutdown Google+ personal account by 2nd of April 2019.
According to a statement issued by Google on December 2018, the decision to shutdown Google+ for consumers is due to “low usage and challenges that involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers expectations.”
What this means is that on April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and all your content in Google+ personal account will be deleted, including photos and videos in your Album archive. But if you have your photos and videos backed up on Google photos you don’t have to worry, for they will not be affected.
According to Google, as the shutdown date approaches, some of the functionality Google+ consumers offers will stop working, functions like creating new account, signing up on other platforms with Google+, API integration, etc.
There is opportunities for users to back up there data’s and content before the official shutdown.
Google promise to keep active Google+ G Suite account and plan to add new features to it.
You can learn of this new development by Google by reading a statement they released on December 2018.